Main participants
 Gerhard Winkelmann-Oei – German Environment Agency, Contracting and Financing Body
 Ukrainian project team
Irina Nikolaieva – Project Manager, Lead ecological auditor, Director of "Ecoplatform", LLC;
Dmitry Rudakov – Project Director, National Mining University of Ukraine, Head of the Department of Hydrogeology and Engineering Geology, Professor;

Grygorii Shmatkov – Methodology developer, Director of the Centre of Environment audit and Clean Technologies LLC, Professor;

Kateryna Okhotnyk – Environmental and educational expert, PhD;

Tetiana Omelyanenko – Lawyer (key expert) on competent authorities’ strategy, Institute of environmental economics and sustainable development of National Academy of Sciences of

Ganna Zadnipriana – Project manager assistant, environmental expert.

Oleksandr Kovrov – National Mining University, Ecology Department of NMU, Associate Prof., PhD;

Tetyana Yakovishina – Prydniprovska State Academy of Civil Engineering and Architecture, Associate Prof., PhD;
Natalia Maksimova – Dnipropetrovsk state university of agriculture and economics; 

Sergey Kravtsov – National Metallurgical Academy of Ukraine, Assistant;

Dmytro Pikarenya –  Dniprodzerzhinsk State Technical University, Professor.

20 students and post-graduate students of the four local Universities (National Mining University, Prydniprovska State Academy of Civil Engineering and Architecture, National Metallurgical Academy, Dnipropetrovsk state university of agriculture and economics) participate in all activities within the project.

Previous Connected Project

International project
"Improving the safety of industrial tailings management facilities based on the example of Ukrainian facilities"

Main participants   
Contracting and Financing Body, Germany
John Vijgen International Project Manager, Denmark
Ukrainian project team
Irina Nikolaieva  Project manager, Lead ecological auditor of Innovation Center “Eсosystem” LLC, Ukraine
Kateryna Okhotnyk Assistant of project manager, PhD, Dnipropetrovsk National University, Ukraine
Gregory Shmatkov Technical team leader, Director of the Centre of Environment audit and Clean Technologies LLC, professor, Ukraine
Dmitry Rudakov Technical expert, National Mining University of Ukraine, Head of the Department "Hydrogeology and Engineering Geology", professor, Ukraine
International experts
Nikolay Savov Environmental Affairs Officer, Environment Division United Nations Economic Commission for Europe, Switzerland
Philip Peck  Associate Professor, the International Institute of Industrial Environmental Economics (IIIEE) at Lund University, Sweden
Wolfhart Pohl Senior Specialist for Environment and Geosciences (open ended staff) at World Bank HQ in Washington DC, USA
Irma Gurguliani Head of the Natural and Technological Hazards Management Service, Ministry of Environment and Natural Resources Protection, Georgia
Senior specialist, of the Natural and Technological Hazards Management Service, Tbilisi, Georgia
Hovhannes Nikoghosyan  Head of the Environment Department, Armenian Mining and Metallurgical Institute, Armenia
Adam Kovacs Dr. Technical Expert on Pollution Control, ICPDR Secretariat, Austria
Dan Stematiu Professor, Head of Department of Hydraulic Structures, Technical University Bucharest, Romania
Zoltán Torok Assistant Professor, chemical engineer, Research Center for Disaster Management, Faculty of Environmental Science and Engineering
Nicolae Ajtai Assistant Professor, Babes-Bolyai University, Romania
David Tingey  Sustainability Director in Zangezur Copper Molybdenum Combine CJSC, Armenia
Armen Barikayn Vice Chairman of Revision Commission (representing Cronimet Mining AG), Zangezur Copper Molybdenum Combine CJSC, Romania
Pavel Danihelka Professor, Head of Laboratory of Risk Research and Management, Technical University of Ostrava, Czech Republic
Péter Kovács Deputy State Secretary for Water, Ministry of Rural Development, Hungary
Timo Regina  Senior Inspector of Tailings Dams, Center for Economic Development, Transport and the Environment for Kainuu, Finland
Oliver Kalush Executive board member of the BBU (Association of Citizens' Initiatives for Environmental Protection, the German member of the European Environmental Bureau (EEB), Germany
Christoph Külls Hydrology and International Water Management Faculty Civil Engineering, University of Applied Sciences of Lübeck, Germany
PPRD participants
Sergej Anagnosti Team Leader, EU-funded Programme for the Prevention, Preparedness and Response to Man-made and Natural Disasters in the ENPI East Region (PPRD East), Serbia
Main Specialist, Natural and Technological Hazards Management Service, Georgia
David Robakidze Head, Fossil Use Control Division, Department of Environmental Supervision, Georgia
Ukrainian experts
Iana Roginska  Independent Lawyer, Director of the Research Institute on Legal Approximation, Ukraine
Dmytro Gordienko State Department of Ecology Dnipropetrovsk Regional State Administration, Ukraine
Roman Kravets Department of Environment and Natural Resources, Ivano-Frankivsk Regional State Administration, Ukraine
Sergiy Storozhenko Deputy head of department of State Emergencies Service in Ivano-Frankivsk region, Ukraine
Vasily Patrakeev Deputy Technical Director of Environmental Protection JSC "Lviv Coal Company", Ukraine
Larysa Zakharchenko Environmental Protection Engineer, OJSC “Zhydachiv Pulp and Paper Mill”, Ukraine
Institute of environmental economics and sustainable development sciences, Ukraine
Nadiya Solomatina Environmental Protection Engineer, private JSC “HIMDIVISION”, Ukraine
Ivan Kostiv Director of the SE “State Scientific Research Institute of Halurgy”, Ukraine
Igor Korchinskiy Director of the SE “Potassium Plant” of JSC "Oriana" in Kalush, Ukraine
Mykhailo Prygara Environmental auditor, PE "Ecostatus-Khust", Ukraine
Ivan Dembich Deputy Head of the Office for the Emergencies and Population Protection from the Consequences of the Chornobyl disaster, Ukraine
Gregory Aleksenko Representative of State Emergency Service of Ukraine
Tatiana Bodnarchuk Chief of the laboratory of Lviv Regional Ecological Inspection, Ukraine
Iryna Shtets State Ecological Inspection of Ukraine
Aleksandr Skakalskiy Environmental department of Kryvyi Rih City Council, Ukraine
Dmytro Shybko Head of Dnipropetrovsk Regional Environmental Inspectorate, Ministry of Ecology and Natural Resources of Ukraine
Head of State Committee for Industrial Safety, Labour Protection and Mining Supervision in Ivano-Frankivsk area, Ukraine
Victor Klid Director of the Department of Environment and Natural Resources,  Ivano-Frankivsk Regional State Administration, Ukraine
Igor Isichenko Translator, Ukraine

Methodology for TMF safety improvement 
Template Checklist for TMF

Analysis of the Ukrainian legislation and administrative situation on TMF

Analysis of Ukrainian legislation compliance with the requirements of Directive 2006/21/EC on the management of waste from the extractive industries and Roadmap of its implementation in the context of improving TMFs safety

Map of the TMFs in Ukraine

*This project is financed by the German Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety with means of the Advisory Assistance Programme for Environmental Protection in the Countries of Central and Eastern Europe, the Caucasus and Central Asia. It is supervised by the German Environment Agency (Umweltbundesamt, UBA). The content of this publication lies within the responsibility of the authors.